Lyric Suite

The Lyric Suite, in four contrasting movements, is one of two chamber works composed for tenor saxophone and strings. (Terzetto, for violin, tenor saxophone and piano is also published by To the Fore Publishers.) Lyric Suite was completed April 20, 1993 for the saxophonist Bruce Weinberger and his sister, the violist Rozanna Weinberger. Its first performance, by Paul Cohen with members of the Manhattan Chamber Orchestra, took place in 2002 at a festival of contemporary music in Seoul, Korea. Its U. S. premiere, with Paul Cohen, Richard Clark and Lois Anderson, was at the Merkin Concert Hall in New York City, February 25, 2003.

Walter Hartley (born February 21, 1927, Washington, D.C.) began composing at age five and became seriously dedicated to it at sixteen. All his college degrees are from the Eastman School of Music of the University of Rochester. He received his Ph.D. in composition there in 1953. Some of his teachers were Burrill Phillips, Thomas Canning, Herbert Elwell, Bernard Rogers, Howard Hanson and Dante Fiorillo.

At present he is Professor Emeritus of Music and Composer-in-Residence at State University College, Fredonia, N.Y. He also taught piano, theory and composition at the National Music Camp (now Interlochen Arts Camp) at Interlochen, Michigan from 1956 to 1964.

His list of acknowledged works is now over 200, dating from 1949 on, and most of these are published. He is a member of the American Society for Composers, Authors and Publishers, from which he has received an annual award for achievement in serious music since 1962. A large and significant number of these are for wind instruments, especially low brasses and saxophones, including every member of the the saxophone family in solo and ensemble works.

To the Fore Publishers

To Order offline:
Please include $4.00 postage and handling for each order.
Make checks payable to Paul Cohen and mail to:

Paul Cohen
To The Fore Publishers
420 Lantana Ave
Englewood, NJ, 07631