Lawson Lunde- Suite for Four Saxophones

Lawson Lunde (b. 1935) is a Chicago based composer and pianist whose numerous compositions for saxophone are noted for their lyricism and rhythmic energy. As a pianist he appeared at the age of 14 with the Chicago Symphony, and he later studied composition with Vittorio Rieti and Robert Delaney. His published works for saxophone include sonatas for alto and tenor, plus works for unaccompanied alto and a duo for alto and tenor. To the Fore Publishers is privileged to offer for the first time his Sonata for Soprano Saxophone and Piano Op. 37 ("Alpine") and the Suite for Saxophone Quartet Op. 11.

The Suite was composed for a quartet which had been assembled by Dr. Cecil Leeson at Northwestern University. It was the first of a number of saxophone compositions of mine. Dr. Leeson was very enthusiastic about it and urged me to continue to write saxophone music. The first ideas that I had for the entire suite were very modal in nature and the end result was a work which is, for me, uncharacteristically modal.

Lawson Lunde


To Order offline:
Please include $4.00 postage and handling for each order.
Make checks payable to Paul Cohen and mail to:

Paul Cohen
To The Fore Publishers
420 Lantana Ave
Englewood, NJ, 07631